Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Byron Scott wins award for having Chris Paul on his team

NEW YORK, April 29, 2008 – New Orleans’ Byron Scott is the recipient of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the 2007-08 NBA Coach of the Year, the NBA announced today.
In his fourth season as the Hornets’ head coach, Scott received 458 points, including 70 first-place votes, from a panel of 125 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote. Boston Celtics head coach Doc Rivers was second with 242 points (23 first-place votes) and the Houston Rockets’ Rick Adelman was third with 193 points (17 first-place votes).